eReaders: They’re reading us while we read them | TechRepublic

See on Scoop.itDaily Content Highlights

Your Kindle, therefore Amazon, knows more about your reading habits than you do. Is that something you want?

 

akeaway: Your Kindle, therefore Amazon, knows more about your reading habits than you do. Is that something you want? Michael Kassner looks at eReaders and privacy issues.

Once a month I meet with a group of post high-school educators; we’re aspiring writers looking to create the next great novel. How are we doing? Time’s running out. I’m the only one who’s not naturally gray, and that’s because I’m bald. A few weeks ago, I arrived to a lively discussion, or heated debate, depending on your point of view about a new teaching aid.

As the only non-teacher, I preferred chatting with the owner of the coffee shop, discussing the intricate nuances of the espresso she made for me. Mid-sentence, I swore I heard “Orwellian overkill.” Nah, I’m the conspiracy nut — then “Big Brother” drifted by.

Remembering my manners, I politely but quickly excused myself, wanting to enter the fray. My luck, the group decided to drop the subject and get down to earnest writing. As I alluded to earlier, we have a time crunch.

See on www.techrepublic.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Magazine

Leave a Reply

